Terry McAdam Book Award





The Alliance for Nonprofit Management Congratulates the 2013 Terry McAdam Book Award Winners:

Beth Kanter and Katie Delahaye Paine

for their Book

Measuring the Networked Nonprofit:

Using Data to Change the World


The Terry McAdam Book Award was established in 1989 to commemorate the life and work of New York Community Trust Vice President, Terry McAdam, who devoted his life to improving the nonprofit management field and urged the field to write about the sector to share knowledge and build the social change movement. The award will be presented at the annual conference of the Alliance for Nonprofit Management, in Newark, New Jersey August 7-9, 2013.



Finalists for the 2013 Terry McAdam Book Award included:



Terry McAdam Book Award Winner!

Measuring the Networked Nonprofit: Using Data to Change the World by Beth Kanter and Katie Delahaye Paine, offers the tools and strategies needed for nonprofits that need reliable and measurable data from their social media efforts. Using these tools will improve a nonprofit’s decision making process and produce results-driven metrics for staff and stakeholders.



With Charity for All by Ken Stern shares stories from industry greats, sharing bold, brutal truths nonprofits with good intentions, but often poor results and the plight of millions of Americans donating to good causes to no good end. Stern introduces an inspiring prescription for individual giving and widespread reform.




Group Alchemy: The Six Elements of Highly Successful Collaboration by Deborah Pruitt synthesizes the author’s dual perspectives as anthropologist and organizational consultant into six elements proven to make groups more successful: consistently producing outstanding results and enjoying a rewarding and inspiring collaboration experience.




Social Change Anytime Everywhere: How to Implement Online Multichannel Strategies by Allyson Kapin and Amy Sample Ward, will guide readers through the planning and implementation of online multi-channel social media strategies that will spark advocacy, raise money and promote deeper community engagement in order to achieve social change in real time.


An Article Series about the finalists can be found at Social Impact Geek.


Mary Beth Lepkowsky, Chair of the award selection committee, shared that “McAdam Award finalists have been invited to host interactive dialogues with conference participants to explore key concepts in their books. These dynamic sessions will culminate in the announcement of the winning publication and author at an afternoon reception.



Valaida Fullwood, author of Giving Back, signing books after the presentation of the 2012 Terry McAdam Book Award

Previous Winners Include

Giving Back: A Tribute to Generations of African American Philanthropists by Valaida Fullwood with Charles W. Thomas Jr

Walk out, Walk On by Margaret Wheatley and Deborah Frieze (2011)

Reliable Fundraising in Unreliable Times by Kim Klein (2010)

Chief Executive Transitions: How to Hire and Support a Nonprofit CEO by Don Tebbe (2009)

Generations by Peter Brinkerhoff (2008)